Cuba for Lovers of Dance – Ballet Nacional de Cuba

Updated 2017 Performance Schedule

Ballet Nacional de Cuba Havana VIP Tours

Dance is in the DNA of the Cuban people.  Whether it is popular dance like the Rueda de Casino (Salsa to the rest of the world), or the national professional troupes like the Ballet Folklorico de Cuba (mainly performing Afro-Cuban inspired dances), or the internationally acclaimed Ballet Nacional de Cuba (classical ballet), the tiny island nation of approximately 11 million people knows how to move it’s feet.

Thanks in great measure to the work and personality of  Alicia Alonso, once one of Cuba’s greatest Prima Ballerinas, and now for decades it’s Director (and for whom the recently refurbished National Theater has been renamed), the National Ballet of Cuba has been and remains one of Cuba’s most enduring and beloved arts institutions.  For lovers of classical dance, a trip to Cuba would not be complete without attending a performance.  And for true fanatics of ballet, Havana VIP Tours exclusive visit to a practice session of the Ballet is a rare and unforgettable treat. As part of our concierge-style services, Havana VIP places our clients into the very best seats for the very best performances.

Here’s the home performance schedule for the rest of 2017:

June 2017

Saturday 24 June 8:30 pm and Sunday 25 June 5:00 pm: Combined Program selected from the company repetoire.

Ballet Nacional de Cuba Paquita Havana VIP Tours

Paquita (Grand Pas).

Choreography by Marius Pepita.  Music by Ludwig Minkus. Designs by Salvador Fernández.

Percusión para 6 Hombres.

Choreography by Vicente Nebrada.  Music by Gurst.

The Lily Garden.

Choreography by Antony Tudor.  Music by Ernest Chausson. Set Design by Ricardo Reymena. Costumes by Salvador Fernández (based on the originals by Hugh Stevenson).

 

July 2017

Friday 1 July, Saturday 2 July 8:30 pm, and Sunday 2 July 5:00 pm

Ballet Nacional de Cuba Nutcracker Havana VIP Tours

Dido y Eneas

An Opera from the Cuban National Lyric Theater with original dance by the National Ballet.

 

September 2017

Friday 1 September 8:30 pm, Saturday 2 September 8:30 pm, Sunday 3 September 5:00 pm – Teatro Tomás Terry (Cienfuegos)

Ballet Nacional de Cuba Gisselle Havana VIP Tours

Combined Program

Selections from the Company repetoire.

 

 

October 2017

Friday 6 October 8:30 pm, Saturday 7 October 8:30 pm, Sunday 8 October 5:00 pm

Theme & Variations

Choreography: Georges Balanchine.  Music: Tchaikovsky

Carmen

Choreography and Libretto: Alberto Alonso based on the opera by Bizet.

25th Alicia Alonso International Ballet Festival Havana VIP Tours

 

Friday 12 October 8:30 pm, Saturday 13 October 8:30 pm, Sunday 14 October 5:00 pm

Umbral

Choreography: Alicia Alonso.  Music: Chopin.  Set Design: Zaida del Rio

Carmen

Choreography and Libretto: Alberto Alonso based on the opera by Bizet.

 

 

November 2017

Friday 17 November 8:30 pm, Saturday 18 November 8:30 pm, Sunday 19 November 5:00 pm

La Bayadera

Choreography: María Elena Llorente, based on the original by Marius Petipa. Music: Ludwig Minkus. Design: Salvador Fernández

The Magic Flute

A Comic-ballet in one act (Choreography: Alicia Alonso, inspired by the work by Lev Ivanov. Music: Riccardo Drigo. Design: Ricardo Reymena. Lighting: Ruddy Artiles.

 

Thursday 23 November, 8:30 pm, Friday 24 November 8:30 pm, Saturday 25 November 8:30 pm, Sunday 26 November 5:00 pm

Paquita

Choreography: Marius Petipa. Music: Ludwig Minkus. Design: Salvador Fernández

The Magic Flute

A Comic-ballet in one act (Choreography: Alicia Alonso, inspired by the work by Lev Ivanov. Music: Riccardo Drigo. Design: Ricardo Reymena. Lighting: Ruddy Artiles.

 

December 2017

Friday 8 December 8:30 pm, Saturday 9 December 8:30 pm, Sunday 10 December 5:00 pm – Teatro Heredia (Santiago de Cuba)

Friday 22 December 8:30 pm, Saturday 23 December 8:30 pm, Sunday 24 December 5:00 pm – Gran Teatro Nacional (Havana)

The Nutcracker

Choreography: Alicia Alonso, based on the original by Lev Ivanov. Musica: Piotr Ilich Tchaikovski. Libretto: Marius Petipa, based on the version by Alexandre Dumas. Design: Guido Fiorato

 

 

Contact Havana VIP Tours Now

 


«